Like Countable?

Install the App
TRY NOW

house Bill H.R. 2910

Should Federal, State, and Local Agencies Coordinate Environmental Reviews of Natural Gas Pipelines?

Argument in favor

Interstate natural gas pipelines require detailed environmental reviews that should be conducted simultaneously by relevant federal, state, and local agencies with the Federal Regulatory Energy Commission serving as the lead agency.

Richard's Opinion
···
07/19/2017
A good percentage of the people in our country rely on natural gas for heating and cooking, therefore it is in the best interest of the public to make the installation of these pipelines a priority for all the government agencies that regulate them. The way I see it - a yes vote on this bill is government working for the people and not the other way around.
Like (8)
Follow
Share
Dave's Opinion
···
07/28/2017
If non-partisan people who know what they are doing could teach them how to expedite the process then yes...however once the bureaucracy gets ahold of it it enters never-never land and grinds to a halt...fix that and we'll be on our way. Unfortunately because the partisan progressive liberals and tree huggers seem to hold sway on these matters I would suggest any action taken will fall to the wayside that is so heavily populated by incompetent bureaucrats...SAD BUT TRUE😡❗️
Like (4)
Follow
Share
William's Opinion
···
07/20/2017
SOmeone needs to be checking those things, we have far too many leaks and explosions.
Like (3)
Follow
Share

Argument opposed

Federal, state, and local agencies should be able to carry out environmental reviews of interstate natural gas pipelines as their own pace, even if that means that timelines for reviews and decisions to authorize pipelines don’t match.

Leo's Opinion
···
07/17/2017
Restrictions on those who can request a review of environmental impact makes it easier to hide potentially harmful effects.
Like (71)
Follow
Share
Paula's Opinion
···
07/19/2017
This bill is intended to undermine NEPA (Nat’l Environmental Policy Act), which since 1970 has required environmental review before permitting pipelines and public-land development. Delays are caused by lack of funding, project complexity, and local opposition — not NEPA — as has been established by GAO and CRS reports made over the last two decades. There are many examples showing NEPA’s efficacy and efficiency. H.R. 2910 would hogtie NEPA with arbitrary deadlines and agency assignments, giving the fossil fuel industry a near-automatic green light. It should be voted down.
Like (47)
Follow
Share
Jim2423's Opinion
···
07/19/2017
Sorry don't have much faith in a senator from an oil rich state asking for a quick change in the system. Somebody wants something approved for their profit. I am a little skeptical.
Like (35)
Follow
Share

What is House Bill H.R. 2910?

This bill would direct the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) to create a process for coordinating reviews between federal, state, and local agencies in which it would serve as the lead agency when siting natural gas pipelines that cross state lines. Assuming other agencies accept FERC’s invitation to serve as participants in the environmental review process, they would defer to the commission to the greatest extent allowed by law so that the review can meet deadlines set by this legislation.

If an agency notifies FERC that it doesn’t have jurisdiction related to the pipeline authorization, lacks expertise or information relevant to the review, or doesn’t intend to submit comments for review they wouldn’t be considered participants. Agencies that aren’t designated participants wouldn’t be able to request or conduct a NEPA environmental review in addition to the one conducted by FERC unless the agency demonstrates that it’s legally necessary and requires information that couldn’t have been obtained during FERC’s review. FERC wouldn’t consider any comments or information provided by a non-designated agency or include such comments in its review.

A deadline for a federal pipeline authorization would be set 90 days after FERC completes its NEPA review, and each participating agency would develop a plan for completing its consideration in that timeframe. If that deadline isn’t met at a given agency, it would be required to notify FERC and Congress of the failure and provide a plan to ensure the completion of the action to be taken.

Impact

Businesses and consumers affected by proposed natural gas pipelines; environmental regulators with oversight of natural gas pipelines at the federal, state, and local level.

Cost of House Bill H.R. 2910

A CBO cost estimate is unavailable.

More Information

In-Depth: Sponsoring Rep. Bill Flores (R-TX) introduced this bill to modernize the permitting process for natural gas pipelines to better allow the U.S. to capitalize on its energy resources:

“America is one of the world’s top oil and gas producers thanks to the shale revolution. Our energy infrastructure and permitting process must be updated to reflect America’s abundance of domestic energy resources. Modernizing the permitting process for the nation’s pipeline infrastructure allows us to efficiently and safely bring those resources to our downstream assets, ultimately to consumers, to power our economy, and to give opportunities to our hard-working American families.”

This legislation passed the House Energy and Commerce Committee on a party-line, 30-23 vote. It has the support of five Republican cosponsors in the House.


Media:

Summary by Eric Revell

(Photo Credit: Niteshift / Creative Commons)

AKA

Promoting Interagency Coordination for Review of Natural Gas Pipelines Act

Official Title

To provide for Federal and State agency coordination in the approval of certain authorizations under the Natural Gas Act, and for other purposes.

bill Progress


  • Not enacted
    The President has not signed this bill
  • The senate has not voted
      senate Committees
      Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation
  • The house Passed July 19th, 2017
    Roll Call Vote 248 Yea / 179 Nay
      house Committees
      Committee on Energy and Commerce
      Energy
    IntroducedJune 15th, 2017

Log in or create an account to see how your Reps voted!
    A good percentage of the people in our country rely on natural gas for heating and cooking, therefore it is in the best interest of the public to make the installation of these pipelines a priority for all the government agencies that regulate them. The way I see it - a yes vote on this bill is government working for the people and not the other way around.
    Like (8)
    Follow
    Share
    Restrictions on those who can request a review of environmental impact makes it easier to hide potentially harmful effects.
    Like (71)
    Follow
    Share
    This bill is intended to undermine NEPA (Nat’l Environmental Policy Act), which since 1970 has required environmental review before permitting pipelines and public-land development. Delays are caused by lack of funding, project complexity, and local opposition — not NEPA — as has been established by GAO and CRS reports made over the last two decades. There are many examples showing NEPA’s efficacy and efficiency. H.R. 2910 would hogtie NEPA with arbitrary deadlines and agency assignments, giving the fossil fuel industry a near-automatic green light. It should be voted down.
    Like (47)
    Follow
    Share
    Sorry don't have much faith in a senator from an oil rich state asking for a quick change in the system. Somebody wants something approved for their profit. I am a little skeptical.
    Like (35)
    Follow
    Share
    Here's my concern: environmental protections are being threatened by the current administration and placing FERC in charge of the evaluations may mean that inadequate consideration is given to the health and safety of our people and environment and that corporate interests will win over human and planet considerations.
    Like (13)
    Follow
    Share
    Vote No! Agree with this statement, "Federal, state, and local agencies should be able to carry out environmental reviews of interstate natural gas pipelines as their own pace, even if that means that timelines for reviews and decisions to authorize pipelines don’t match."
    Like (12)
    Follow
    Share
    i do not trust the current administration to coordinate anything. This administration is dictatorial!
    Like (9)
    Follow
    Share
    Why would you give control to the entity that wants to eliminate the controls?
    Like (8)
    Follow
    Share
    We don't need anymore dirty fracking. We need to concentrate on renewables, solar and wind.
    Like (8)
    Follow
    Share
    States rights, until it doesn't fit the Republican agenda. :)
    Like (7)
    Follow
    Share
    The locations impacted by the pipeline should be able to conduct their own reviews. We need a moratorium on all pipelines until it can be assured they will never leak. We cannot afford the threat to our drinking water and we should not be enabling fossil fuels. It is time to move to sustainable energy
    Like (6)
    Follow
    Share
    Less government right??
    Like (5)
    Follow
    Share
    This bill is sponsored by a republican. Therefore, in my opinion it is not good for the American people, nor for any common, non-wealthy citizen.
    Like (5)
    Follow
    Share
    Sounds like a go ahead to ignore environmental safety hazzards and expedite profit - marketed as ideological but inefficient team planning.
    Like (5)
    Follow
    Share
    Enough of this obsession with fossil fuels! We desperately need to transition to a clean energy economy! Also, states and local officials should be conducting their own reviews separately in order to ensure that all parties are satisfied with these projects.
    Like (4)
    Follow
    Share
    Look at who's sponsoring this. He's a shill for the gas and oil industry. This will not help the environment. It will help an industry notorious for problems with broken pipes.
    Like (4)
    Follow
    Share
    If non-partisan people who know what they are doing could teach them how to expedite the process then yes...however once the bureaucracy gets ahold of it it enters never-never land and grinds to a halt...fix that and we'll be on our way. Unfortunately because the partisan progressive liberals and tree huggers seem to hold sway on these matters I would suggest any action taken will fall to the wayside that is so heavily populated by incompetent bureaucrats...SAD BUT TRUE😡❗️
    Like (4)
    Follow
    Share
    Move thing along faster.
    Like (3)
    Follow
    Share
    FERC is already a rubber stamp approver of pipelines. We need a process that gets public input up front, not after the decision is made.
    Like (3)
    Follow
    Share
    SOmeone needs to be checking those things, we have far too many leaks and explosions.
    Like (3)
    Follow
    Share
    MORE