by Girls Build Summit Action Center | 9.4.18
This content was originally published by nonprofitvote.org.
14 States allow registration as early as 16 years old according to the National Council of State Legislatures. These states are:
Four states have laws on the books that state registration can occur at the age of 17. Maine, Nevada, New Jersey and West Virginia allow young voters to register who will be 18 in time for a general election. For instance, if you have a client in your hometown of Brunswick, Maine who elects to register to vote in March before their October 18th birthday, they’ll be a pending voter and will be eligible to go to the polls on Election Day in November.
So after a prospective voter you serve turns 17, things get a little more complicated and certainly less cut and dry. Some states allow registration six months before an election, some states, like Texas allow for registration after a person turns 17 and 10 months, and others don’t have a law on the books that specifically addresses this in clear fashion. Some states in this group have Automatic Voter Registration that covers pre-registration, but again, it isn’t as crystal clear as one would hope. For information about your state, we encourage you to consult our Voting in Your State page for the most accurate and up to date information.
For more information, visit the National Council on State Legislatures (NCSL’s) handy page on pre-registration for young voters.
Written by Girls Build Summit Action Center
Follow this Action Center to stay updated on new posts