Like Countable?

Install the App
TRY NOW

Justice Roberts Sends Judicial Kavanaugh Complaints to Appeals Court

by Axios | Updated on 10.11.18

Countable asks: Will the Kavanaugh confirmation influence your vote in the midterms? Tell your reps, then share your thoughts below. (Via Axios)


Chief Justice John Roberts on Wednesday transferred more than a dozen judicial misconduct complaints related to the Supreme Court’s newest associate justice, Brett Kavanaugh, to the 10th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in Colorado for further review.

The details: The 15 complaints are related to remarks Kavanaugh made during his confirmation hearings last month. They were initially filed with D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals where Kavanaugh served as a federal judge for 12 years before his confirmation to the high court last Saturday.


The backdrop: People familiar with the issue told the Washington Post that the allegations center on whether President Trump's Supreme Court pick was dishonest and lacked judicial temperament during his Senate testimony.

  • The Post notes that complaints made against judges are usually handled by the chief judge. A justice on the court asked Roberts last month to refer the complaints to another appeals court for review, saying that they should not be handled by Kavanaugh’s colleagues, reports the Post.

The outcome of the review is unclear. Arthur D. Hellman, a law professor at the University of Pittsburgh, told the publication that the 10th Circuit will likely toss the case “because it is no longer within their jurisdiction,” now that since Kavanaugh’s nomination has been confirmed.

-Khorri Atkinson

Axios

Written by Axios

Follow this Action Center to stay updated on new posts

Leave a comment
(60)
  • Kodiwodi
    Voted Sad
    10/11/2018
    ···

    What Justice Roberts did by holding onto the complaints until after Kavanaugh took his seat on the court and then sending them down to a court that no longer has jurisdiction was cowardly and further erodes confidence in SCOTUS. I do however still have faith in the ABA and hope fervently for disbarment.

    Like (37)
    Follow
    Share
  • Angela
    Voted Happy
    10/11/2018
    ···

    By confirming Judge Kavanaugh, you have lost my vote. Not only because of the sexual assault allegations. Kavanaugh has a long record of being a partisan republican activist. As a college student who will outlive you, and Judge Kavanaugh , I can say you are incredibly out of touch with what the country wants, and how we want our future to look. Your complicity in making the Supreme Court a republican majority has given us a Supreme Court that is not aligned with our country’s ideologies. I speak for myself, and many fellow college students when I say you have angered us, and we will be at the polls, and

    Like (25)
    Follow
    Share
  • Dave
    Voted Apathetic
    10/11/2018
    ···

    Justice, truth, honesty and balances on the Supreme Court will always be in question, now more so! The limits put on the FBI, calls the FBI investigation into question as well! This is by design by Trump administration and Russia.

    Like (14)
    Follow
    Share
  • Deborah
    10/11/2018
    ···

    So kavanaugh will most likely laugh at the charges that face him and have the power to throw it away and then attack anyone who was involved at trying to show who he really is. Another ridiculous notion from more idiotic repubs. When will the rape of the average American citizen stop???!!!

    Like (11)
    Follow
    Share
  • ManfromNebraska
    Voted Sad
    10/11/2018
    ···

    Justice Kavanaugh handled himself like I would expect an innocent man to react to such slanderous allegations.

    Like (16)
    Follow
    Share
  • Vanessa
    Voted Happy
    10/11/2018
    ···

    These complaints are a waste of time. Roberts handled them well. Let’s move on.

    Like (9)
    Follow
    Share
  • BradSmith
    10/11/2018
    ···

    I wonder if people read before posting. The complaints are obviously the left’s continuing attempts to obstruct the efforts of the legitimately elected President and Legislators.

    Like (5)
    Follow
    Share
  • Ray
    Voted Apathetic
    10/12/2018
    ···

    Sending the case to lower court seems to be dodging the issue and moving the attention away from the main media to save the Supreme Court image. Our highest court in the land has already been bought and sold by big money and corporations. Trusting justice is only a pipe dream now. KAVA placement in the court most definitively impact my vote.

    Like (1)
    Follow
    Share
  • Jeff
    Voted Sad
    10/11/2018
    ···

    Frankly at this point given the actions of the Supreme Court and the complete lack of integrity of the vetting process of recent justices to the Court the Court in my mind has lost its credibility and relevance. Time for our reps to be calling for a reform of the entire judicial branch

    Like (12)
    Follow
    Share
  • Donna
    Voted Sad
    10/11/2018
    ···

    Just one word for Roberts - COWARD.

    Like (7)
    Follow
    Share
  • SneakyPete
    Voted Sad
    10/13/2018
    ···

    ‘Liars, Leakers, and Liberals' “DEMOCRATS” We are sadly 😔 seeing our opposition DEMOCRATIC party drifting from Liberal to Progressive Democrats and now we are seeing sadly 😞 seeing a growing segment of Democrats turning to Socialist members, which is tainting its political and social agendas . The country doesn’t deserve or need to see them increasing its expansion of Socialist political influence increased. The SAD 😞 Performance conducted by Senators Feinstein, Blumenthal, Booker and the remainder of the Democratic Senators of the Senate Judicial Committee, supported by remainder of the Senates Democrats, will cost drastically during the 6 November Midterms Elections, Mark My Words....... The Democratic minders have and will continue their using of all of the Saul Alinsky “Rules for Radicals” concepts, including that “If you create and spread a “FALSEHOOD” about an “Opposition”candidate long enough, the “Uniformed” will believe the lie. It’s a “COMMUNITY ORGANIZING” basic. VOTE 🗳 REPUBLICAN FOR ALL THE LOCAL OFFICES TO THE LOCAL STATE HOUSE OFFICES AND All THE WASHINGTON SENATE & HOUSE SEATS OF CONGRESS. VOTE 🗳 REPUBLICAN ON 6 NOVEMBER 10*13*18 ..... SneakyPete..... SEE: For those who don’t already know: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rules_for_Radicals

    Like (7)
    Follow
    Share
  • Nancy
    Voted Happy
    10/11/2018
    ···

    It’s seems perfectly logical for Chief Justus Roberts to hand these complaints to a neutral court to give them due process, something the Dems seem to have no respect for the basic right. And if you had read more than the basic article, anyone who lives in the district can complain ! Can anyone not believe this is more hate by Dems? You realize DC is 99% demos. Keep ranting & it makes us more determined convicted to show up the poles! And I think this article is incorrect that this doesn’t happen very often. Read that this happened to Justices Roberts,Kagan, Thomas & one other. Mob Dems, try reading more.

    Like (6)
    Follow
    Share
  • Sherry
    Voted Sad
    10/11/2018
    ···

    Kavanaugh's illegal appointment (like Gorsuch before him) makes me so angry. I have NO voice in the GOP Trump govt. I want my voice restored.

    Like (6)
    Follow
    Share
  • James
    10/12/2018
    ···

    Looking forward to President Trump’s next nomination, we need as many originalist on the bench as possible. The courts have been used too long to advance socialists’ agendas, turning it into a de facto legislative arm. Now Congress needs to re-assume its control over the bureaucracy.

    Like (4)
    Follow
    Share
  • Alex
    Voted Sad
    10/11/2018
    ···

    Yes, this will influence my voting, not just in this election but in every future election as well. Republicans really showed their true colors. I have no intention of every voting in favor of anyone who voted to put a rapist on the Supreme Court. Senator Young, you have permanently lost my vote. Obviously you do not care about me or any of your other constituents who are survivors of sexual assault and harassment. And that tells me everything I need to know about you. Our political system - and our justice system - are in need of a sweeping overhaul and I hope Novemeber will see the start of it.

    Like (4)
    Follow
    Share
  • Tom
    10/12/2018
    ···

    All these complaints were made by socialists of the Democratic Party

    Like (4)
    Follow
    Share
  • John
    Voted Happy
    10/11/2018
    ···

    I wonder if anyone read the summary on the complaints or the origin of those complaints? Justice Roberts should have dismissed them on grounds. One cannot complain about the conduct of a sitting judge prior to their appointment to the judgeship. Logic is being lost to society’s sense of entitlement; it must be my way or it’s just wrong.

    Like (4)
    Follow
    Share
  • David
    10/11/2018
    ···

    What The DemonRats Did To Justice Kavanaugh Is Wrong In So Many Damn Ways! Oh You Better Believe The Red Tsunami Is Coming! The Democrats Have Proven That They Are Incompetent When It Comes To Running The Country! They Can Not Handle Power! Justice Is Coming For The Corrupt Democrats In Washington! I Pray To God That Democrats Never Ever Have A Majority Again!

    Like (4)
    Follow
    Share
  • SneakyPete
    Voted Sad
    10/14/2018
    ···

    🚨 DANGER WARNING - ANOTHER MSM ALERT 🚨 🙀 THE KAVANAUGH CONFIRMATION APPROVAL 🙀 I really find it extremely amazing 😉 in seeing, as would be expected, that the MSM (In this case ABC & WaPo) are using their biased polling agencies to deceive the American voters view and approval of JUSTICE KAVANAUGH’s appointment to the SCOTUS. According to a new Washington Post-ABC News poll “More Americans disapprove of, then Americans approve of Brett Kavanaugh’s confirmation, to the Supreme Court of the United States 🇺🇸. Additionally according to them: “The 50-48 vote that confirmed Kavanaugh was closest vote on a Supreme Court justice in more than 130 years. Public opinion on Kavanaugh's confirmation and the investigation is just as divided, WaPo explains. 10*13*18 ..... SneakyPete .....

    Like (4)
    Follow
    Share
  • Tinee
    10/14/2018
    ···

    Everything connected to Kavanaugh will cast a dark shadow over the entire Judicial Branch. Kavanaugh lied repeatedly during his confirmation. He yelled at Senators. He lost control of his emotions. He showed political bias. All the big names that gave Kavanaugh glowing reviews revoked them. Yale came out in force against his confirmation. The IRS investigation was a sham. One cannot find if one is not allowed to look for. The White House put a limit on the investigation. The Supreme Court doesn't seem to care about it's reputation. The message being sent is clear. The Supreme Court will do whatever it wants. It will only appoint whom it wants. The will of the people have no say in the matter.

    Like (3)
    Follow
    Share
  • Kaycek1
    Voted Happy
    10/11/2018
    ···

    I am definitely basing my decisions to vote in this election and FUTURE elections on Kavanaugh's confirmation. I am also basing my voting decisions on the inability of the Congressional members to get along with one another, and their ignorance of their constituent's wishes in Congress.

    Like (3)
    Follow
    Share